COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE MEETING HELD ON THURSDAY, 9 JANUARY 2020

Councillors Present: Adrian Abbs, Steve Ardagh-Walter, Peter Argyle, Phil Barnett, Jeff Beck, Dennis Benneyworth, Dominic Boeck, Graham Bridgman, Jeff Brooks, Hilary Cole, James Cole, Jeremy Cottam, Carolyne Culver, Lee Dillon, Lynne Doherty, Billy Drummond, Clive Hooker Owen Jeffery, (Vice-Chairman), Gareth Hurley, Rick Jones, Nassar Kessell, Tony Linden, Ross Mackinnon, Alan Macro, Thomas Marino, David Marsh, Steve Masters, Geoff Mayes, Graham Pask (Chairman), Erik Pattenden, Claire Rowles, Garth Simpson, Martha Vickers, Richard Somner. Joanne Stewart, Tony Vickers, Andrew Williamson, Keith Woodhams and Howard Woollaston

Also Present: Kofi Adu-Gyamfi (Waste Manager), John Ashworth (Corporate Director - Environment), Mandip Bilkhu (Communications and Marketing Officer), Nick Carter (Chief Executive), Sarah Clarke (Head of Legal and Strategic Support), Martin Dunscombe (Communications Manager), Tess Ethelston (Group Executive (Cons)), Joseph Holmes (Executive Director - Resources), Olivia Lewis (Group Executive (Lib Dem)), Bryan Lyttle (Planning & Transport Policy Manager), Andy Sharp (Executive Director (People)) Jon Winstanley (Head of Transport and Countryside), Honorary Alderman Brian Bedwell, Moira Fraser (Democratic and Electoral Services Manager) and Honorary Alderman Andrew Rowles

Apologies for inability to attend the meeting: Councillor Jeff Cant and Councillor Royce Longton

Councillor Absent: Councillor Andy Moore

PART I

16. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest received.

17. Roll of Honorary Alderman

The Council considered Agenda Item 3 which proposed that former Councillors Pamela Bale, Paul Bryant, Keith Chopping, Adrian Edwards, Graham Jones, Mollie Lock, Anthony Stansfeld, Quentin Webb and Emma Webster be conferred the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman in recognition of their eminent service rendered on behalf of the Council and residents of West Berkshire over a period of time.

The Chairman explained that the Local Government Act 1972 made provision for the appointment of former Councillors as Honorary Aldermen or Alderwomen to recognise the eminent service they provided above and beyond their normal duties. The Honorary Alderman/ Alderwoman needed to be advocates for their communities and needed to exhibit high standards of conduct and ethics. Members had discussed and agreed to the introduction of the scheme at the September 2011 Council meeting. Councillors Lynne Doherty, Lee Dillon, Carolyne Culver and Graham Pask had met and agreed to support the nominations.

The Chairman welcomed everyone to the special Council meeting and particularly welcomed the family and friends of the Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Alan Law and seconded by Councillor Graham Bridgman:

COUNCIL - 9 JANUARY 2020 - MINUTES

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on former Councillor Pamela Bale."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly **RESOLVED**.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Clive Hooker and seconded by Councillor Lynne Doherty:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Paul Bryant."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly RESOLVED.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Hilary Cole and seconded by Councillor Graham Bridgman:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Keith Chopping."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly RESOLVED.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Jeff Beck and seconded by Councillor Steve Ardagh-Walter:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Adrian Edwards."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly RESOLVED.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Hilary Cole and seconded by Councillor Howard Woollaston:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Graham Jones."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly **RESOLVED**.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Owen Jeffrey and seconded by Councillor Jeff Brooks:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on former Councillor Mollie Lock."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly **RESOLVED**.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Claire Rowles and seconded by Councillor James Cole:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Anthony Stansfeld."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly RESOLVED.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Graham Pask and seconded by Councillor Jeff Beck:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Quentin Webb."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly **RESOLVED**.

MOTION: Proposed by Councillor Rick Jones and seconded by Councillor Tony Linden:

"That the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman on former Councillor Emma Webster."

The Motion was put to the meeting and duly RESOLVED.

COUNCIL - 9 JANUARY 2020 - MINUTES

(The meeting commenced at 6.30 pm and closed at 7.45 pm)	
CHAIRMAN Date of Signature	